Sources of Indian Constitutional Provision

Sources of Indian Constitutional Provision Government of India Act, 1935 Office of Governor   Service Commission    Federal structure   Judiciary Power Division   United States of America Fundamental Rights   S Read More


OATHS AND RESIGNATIONS    OFFICE OATH RESIGNATION       President Chief Justice of India or in his absence the seniormost Judge of Supreme Court Vice-President       Vice President President or Some person appointed in tha Read More

Minimum & Maximum Age Limit

Officer Minimum Maximum       PRESIDENT 35 YEARS ------       VICE PRESIDENT MORE THAN 35 YEARS ------       LOK SABHA SPEAKER 25 YEARS --- Read More

Some Important Terms

WHIP A directive issued by any political party to ensure the support of its members voting in favour or against a particular issue on the floor of the House. A person may lose the membership of the party and the legislature if he votes against the whip or abstains from voting     LAME DUCK SESSION Read More


Habeas Corpus Means"to have a body" implies that a person imprisioned or detained by the law can enquire under what authority he has been imprisioned or detained     Mandamus Means a "command" issued by the court commnading a person or a public authority to do or forbear to do something in the nature of public duty & Read More

Panchayati Raj India

PANCHAYATI RAJ INDIA :   National Panchayati Raj Day (National Local Self-Government day) is the national day of India celebrated by Ministry of Panchayati Raj on 24 April. Mahatma Gandhi advocated panchayati raj as the foundation of India's political system, it would have been a decentralized form of government where each village would be responsible for its own affairs. The system has three levels: gram panchayat (villag Read More

National Emblem of India

NATIONAL EMBLEM OF INDIA ---- The National Emblem of India has been taken from the Sarnath Lion capital erected by Ashoka. The national emblem of India was adapted by the Government of India on 26th January1950 The usage of the emblem is regulated and restricted under State Emblem of India (Prohibition of Improper Use) Act, 2005. No individual or private organisation is permitted to use the emblem for official correspondence. The actual Sa Read More

List of Current Indian Chief Ministers

longest Serving Chief Minister Sikkim's Pawan Kumar Chamling (since December 1994 till now (for 21 years, 30 days )     Oldest Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal      Youngest Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav   Of the 31 current incumbents (Including 2 Union Ter Read More

Chief Minister India (Qualifications)

CHIEF MINISTER INDIA :    Chief minister is the head of government at the State level   There are no limits to the number of terms that the Chief Minister can serve   If CM resigns, entire ministry resigns.   A person who is not a member of State Legislature can be appointed, but he has to get himself elected within 6 months, otherwise he is removed.   Eligibility Read More

List of Current Indian Governors

List of female Indian Governors : Sarojini Naidu (First Governor of India and also first lady governor) Uttar Pradesh     Chandrawati (First Lieutenant-Governor of Union Territory) Puducherry     Mridula Sinha (Last Lady  Governor Appointed , Presently working) Goa &n Read More


GOVERNOR OF INDIA   Head of the state government.   The governors and lieutenant-governors of the states and union territories of India have similar powers and functions at the state level as that of the President of India at Union level.    Nominal executive head.     Qualifications (Article 157 and Article 158 ) :   Citizen of India.   Be atleast 35 y Read More

comptroller and Auditor general of India

COMPTROLLER AND AUDITOR GENERAL OF INDIA 1) Head of Indian Audit and Accounts Department or guardian of the public purse 2) Audits all receipts and expenditure of the Government of India and the state governments, including those of bodies and authorities substantially financed by the government. 3) The reports of the CAG are taken into consideration by the Public Accounts Committees (PACs) and Committees on Public Undertaking Read More

Attorney General of India

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF INDIA  1) Indian government's chief legal advisor and its primary lawyer in the Supreme Court of India. 2) The Attorney General is assisted by a Solicitor General and four Additional Solicitor Generals. 3) Highest legal officer of the Union Government      Present Attorney General of India Mukul Rohatgi (14th)   Read More


SUPREME COURT OF INDIA   Highest judicial forum and final court of appeal under the Constitution of India   Consists of Chief Justice & 30 other judges. or maximum seats = 31   Present Chief Justice of India Justice TS Thakur appointed by Pranab Mukherjee (bar Jammu and Kashmir High Court )     Read More


PRIME MINISTER OF INDIA -----   The current Lok Sabha is the 16th Lok Sabha, with Narendra Modi as 14th Prime Minister of India.   Present Prime Minister Narendra Modi First Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru     The first non-Congress Prime Minister Morarji Desai Read More

LOK SABHA (Parliament of India)

According to Article 79 , the Parliament consists of the President , The Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and the House of the people (Lok Sabha).   LOK SABHA --  (("House of the People" OR Lower House))   The current Lok Sabha is the 16th Lok Sabha, with Narendra Modi as the leader of the House.   Speaker (Present) Sumitra Mahajan, BJP Read More

Vice President Of India

Vice-President of India (Also Chairman of Rajya Sabha)     Present Vice President of India Mohammad Hamid Ansari Since 25 August 2012 (Till Now)    First Vice President of India Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1952 - 1957)   1) After The President , the second-highest constitutional office in Indi Read More

Rajya Sabha (Upper House)

RAJYA SABHA or COUNCIL OF STATES or the UPPER HOUSE   Maximum strength --- 250 members    238 members are to be elected from States and Union Territories and 12 are to be nominated by the President of India   Chairman of Rajya Sabha and Vice-President of India-----   Present Vice President of India Mohammad Hamid Ansari Since 25 August 2012 (Till Now)&nb Read More

Parliament of India

PARLIAMENT OF INDIA -----   1) According to Article 79, Parliament of India Composed of the President of India, the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the Rajya Sabha (Council of States).     2) The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body in India.   3) India's Parliament is bicameral; Rajya Sabha (upper house) and Lok Sabha (lower house). Two  separate chambers of Read More

The President

PRESIDENTS OF INDIA ------------------ Total number of Presidents till now = 13th   Current President Of India---------------  Pranab Mukherji (Since25.07. 2007 till now)   First President of India----------------------- Dr. Rajendra Prasad   First Woman President --------------------- Mrs Pratibha Patel   First Cheif Justice appointed as President --------------------&nbs Read More

Composition Of Constituent Assembly

1) The basis for constituting the Constituent Assembly Of India was Cabinet Mission Plan, 1946. 2) The first session of Consitutional Assembly was held on 9th December, 1946. 3)The Constitution of India was adopted on 26th November, 1949. 4) The first day session of Indian Constituent Assembly was chaired by Sachidananda Sinha (Interim President) 5) The last session was held on January 24, 1950 which elected Dr. Rajendra Prasad Read More




Latest Topics